BP 21 50 AVENUE DU PRÉSIDENT WILSON 93213
01 49 21 22 22

Our manifesto

The Collective Against Islamophobia in France is a human rights organisation created in 2000, whose mission is to combat Islamophobia. Islamophobia is defined as all acts of discrimination or violence against individuals or institutions based on actual or assumed belonging to Islam, and appears as the acceptable expression of disguised racism.

Muslims’ visibility in the public space challenges and leads some to intolerance while maintaining their privileges. There has been, in recent years, a semantic shift within the extreme-right influence groups, in all political sides of the fence. As biological racism is punishable by law and its use made almost impossible in the public sphere, cultural racism is today favoured instead. Under the guise of “defence of secularism”,  “national identity”, “Judaeo-Christian roots” of France, a new internal enemy is pointed out: the Muslim.

Paradoxically, Islamophobes’ biggest concern is thefact that Muslims are integrated in the society. French Muslims go to school, graduate, engage in different activities… while expressing their religious belief. They are visible as both citizens and Muslims. They demonstrate everyday the complete compatibility between their religion and the Republic, thus challenging Islamophobes’ beliefs who assume the role of the one knower and only defendants of the Republic. Muslims have rights, they know it and they claim them.

Although the Collective Against Islamophobia in France built expertise to address questions linked to Islamophobia, it condemns and fights against all forms of racism. Our values are strong, clear and unequivocal. We lead our own fights, tell our own stories and act to promote our rights.

We are politically and religiously independent. We maintain contact with all institutions or persons acknowledging the reality of Islamophobia and those who wish to fight against it.

We are independent as funded by donor contributions. This choice of operation enables us to ensure our members and sympathisers our full autonomy.

Our association reflects our society. Our volunteers and employees’ religious, cultural, political, socioeconomic diversity is a valuable asset we are striving to protect.

We look forward to a more just and equal society and strive daily for making liberty, equality, and fraternity a reality for the millions of French Muslims.

Because Islamophobia is not an opinion, it’s a crime.

#TOGETHERWEARESTRONGER

BP 21 50 AVENUE DU PRÉSIDENT WILSON 93213
01 49 21 22 22

Notre manifeste

Le Collectif Contre l’Islamophobie en France est une association de défense des droits humains fondée en 2000, dont la mission est de combattre l’islamophobie. Définie comme l’ensemble des actes de discrimination ou de violence contre des individus ou des institutions en raison de leur appartenance réelle ou supposée à l’Islam, l’islamophobie se présente comme l’expression acceptable d’un racisme qui ne dit pas son nom.

La visibilité des musulmans dans l’espace public bouscule certains dans leurs privilèges et leur intolérance. Depuis quelques années, on observe un glissement sémantique au sein de la fachosphère, tous bords politiques confondus. Le racisme biologique étant puni par la loi et son expression quasi impossible dans la sphère publique, on lui préfère aujourd’hui un racisme culturel. Sous couvert de « défense de la laïcité », de « l’identité nationale », des « racines judéo-chrétiennes » de la France, un nouvel ennemi de l’intérieur est désigné : le musulman.

Paradoxalement, c’est le fait que les musulmans soient intégrés qui pose problème aux islamophobes. Les musulmans français vont à l’école, obtiennent leurs diplômes, réussissent, entreprennent… tout en affichant leurs convictions religieuses. Ils sont visibles à la fois comme citoyens et comme musulmans. Ils font la démonstration quotidienne d’une compatibilité radicale entre leur religion et la République, bousculant ainsi les croyances des islamophobes qui s’érigent en uniques connaisseurs et défenseurs de celle-ci. Les musulmans ont des droits, ils le savent et ils les revendiquent.

Si le CCIF a construit son expertise autour des questions liées à l’islamophobie, il condamne et combat toutes les formes de racismes. Nos valeurs sont fortes, claires et sans équivoques. Nous menons nos propres combats, nous racontons nos propres histoires et nous agissons pour nos droits.

Nous sommes une association apolitique et areligieuse. Nous dialoguons avec toutes les institutions ou les personnes qui reconnaissent la réalité de l’islamophobie et souhaitent la combattre.

Nous sommes une association indépendante, financée par nos donateurs. Ce choix de fonctionnement nous permet de garantir à nos adhérents et nos sympathisants notre parfaite autonomie.

Nous sommes une association à l’image de notre société. La diversité religieuse, culturelle, politique, socio-économique de nos bénévoles et salariés est une richesse que nous nous efforçons de préserver.

Nous aspirons à une société plus juste et plus égalitaire et oeuvrons au quotidien pour que la liberté, l’égalité et la fraternité soient aussi une réalité pour les millions de Français musulmans.

Parce que l’islamophobie n’est pas une opinion, c’est un délit.

#EnsembleNousSommesPlusForts